Thursday, September 20, 2012

Berita Litar - Husni Affan Stuns Elder Brother to Take Pole Position at Ninja Cup


Husni Aizat Abdul Malik stunned elder brother and championship leader Hilmi Affan in qualifying at Sepang Circuit to take pole position for tomorrow opening race of the SIC Ninja 250 Cup at Malaysian Super Series (MSS) championship.

Currently third with 27 points after the opening round, Husni registered 2 minutes 43.688 seconds for his best lap around the 5.543-km track; clocking 1.526 seconds faster than Hilmi, who finished third fastest on the time sheet with a time of 2 minutes 45.214 seconds.

Muhammad Ammar Hafiq Rauzan, who currently sits sixth in the championship standings for the junior category with 20 points, clocked the second fastest qualifying time; with a time of 2 minutes 45.202 seconds. Like Muhammad Ammar, the siblings are also competing in the junior class, which since the opening round in July, had upstaged riders in the open class.

Winning both races in the opening round, Hilmi Affan carries a perfect record, which he aimed to defend in taking full control of the championship and enhanced his personal dream of becoming a professional racer.

Launched two months ago, the SIC Ninja 250 Cup is another initiative by the circuit to develop more Malaysian GP riders; offering the top winners an opportunity to compete on the world stage at the Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix as wildcard riders.

Modeled to the MotoGP Red Bull Rookies Cup and SIC’s GP Wildcard Programme that produced Malaysian Moto3 rider Muhammad Zulfahmi Khairuddin, the programme features a comprehensive roadmap to create more world class riders. The top riders would qualify for selection to ride at the Malaysian GP as wildcard tickets, an opportunity to compete at the final round of the MotoGP World Championship next season and a full season in the following year.

Supported by Kawasaki, AGV Helmets and Dainese, the SIC Ninja 250 Cup is designed as a feeder championship; to fill the void between riders who competed on underbone 115cc machines in the Cub Prix to the 600cc machines - whether in the MSS or the Asia Road Racing Championship.

Riding identical Kawasaki Ninja 250cc machines, the riders are tested purely on the skills; making the championship highly exciting for the rider and entertaining for the spectators with its close competition. They will be competing on identical tyres provided by Pirelli, which is the Official Tyre this season’s Malaysian Super Series.

Race 1 would be held tomorrow; along with the opening races of the other bike categories in the MSS – the Superbike Championship, Superstock Championship and the Supersport Championship. Race 2 would be held on Sunday.

The weekend would also feature Round 4 of the MSS car categories – the GT class, Sport Production Class, Touring Production Class and the Malaysian Touring Car Challenge as well as a host of support races. They included the Asian Classic Car Championship, Touring Car Championship Asia, the Hong Kong Touring Car Championship, VW Scirocco Series and the Westfield Sportscar Series.

This year’s MSS is supported Iktikadraya – the distributor of alpinestars; Panta Racing Fuel; MAXIM oil lubricants, NITRON shock absorber, DID racing chain, Kawasaki, Pirelli, Michelin, DNA air filter for bikes, XAM sprocket, SBS brake and On The Road, which is the official magazine for the series.

SIC Ninja 250 Cup 2012
Sepang Circuit – 5.543km

Top 10 Qualifiers
1.Husni Aizat Abdul Malik 2:43.688s
2. Muhammad Ammar Hafiq Rauzan 2:45.2012s
3. Hilmi Affan Abdul Malik 2:45.214s
4. Has Fauzan Hassan 2:46.337s
5. Muhammad Fazli Mansuar 2:46.343
6. Muhammad Muzakkir Mohamed 2:46.612s
7. Siti Norafizah Muhamad 2:46.757s
8. Abd Wafi Hassan 2:47.279s
9. Hazlanshah Mohd Noor 2:47.521s
10. Mohd Sharil Zulkifli 2:48.071s

SIC Ninja 250
Point Standings After Round 1

Junior Class
1.Hilmi Affan Abdul Malik 50 pts
2. Has Fauzan Hassan 36
3. Husni Aizat Abdul Malik 27
4. Siti Norafizah Muhamad 24
5. Khairul Iman Ramli 23

Open Class
1.Abd Wafi Hassan 50 pts
2. Muhammad Fazli Mansuar 40
3. Mohd Sharil Zulkifli 29
4. Mohamad Radzi Saidin 27
5. Adam Muza Muhayen 24

No comments: